Get your (morning) Joe

Posted on September 27, 2011

0


Good morning! I hope you had your coffee today.  A new study confirms what medical experts around the world have long suspected…coffee makes us feel better, and the mood elevating (read: ability to move at 6 a.m.) effects are more than temporary.

Dr. Albert Ascherio, an author of the study and professor of epidemiology and nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, found that people who drink a little coffee each day are less stressed and less depressed. But don’t consider this an open invitation to load up on lattes (fat, fat, fat!)  Keep it simple.

I have always suspected that coffee is the thing that brings me the most joy (besides a good snuggle with my children and a morning kiss from my husband) at the crack of dawn.  There have been times when I’ve given up my morning cup, and for good reason.  Too much coffee can beat down the adrenal glands. It can leave you anxious and irritable. But a little coffee (2 cups max!) acts like a pick me up. It makes everything lighter and brighter.

This Harvard study found that people who drink coffee each day have a 20% less risk of long-term depression. So be happy and curl up with a cup to get your day started right!

Posted in: Uncategorized